The Kinmel (formerly known as The Kinmel Manor) takes the theme of its logo and corporate identity from the herd of Fallow Deer (Dama Dama) that live on the adjoining Kinmel Estate under the stewardship of the present owner Dickon Fetherstonhaugh. The deer antler theme runs through the whole Hotel identity and is further identified in the name of Brasserie 1786, the year the five-times great grandfather of the present owner bought the Estate.
The Kinmel Manor first became a focal point of the Kinmel Estate in the 18th Century when it was bought by the Hughes family. With their wealth from the Anglesey copper mines, they made many changes to the building in which the oldest part dates back to as early as1570. They opened up the impressive entrance and inserted a much loved oak fireplace that dates back to 1600. This still exists in the Reception of The Kinmel and the words ‘where friends meet hearts warm’ form the cornerstone of the service offering in the hotel.
The Hughes family felt their home was missing a focal point so built a beautiful dining room with a stunning 20ft fireplace, today known as the Manor Restaurant this is the venue for Civil Ceremonies, dinners and intimate receptions.
Owned and run for over thirty years by the Morpeth family, The Kinmel has been the subject of extensive renovation, extensions and upgrades making it today one of the most impressive country house Hotels in the area.
The deer herd, introduced in the seventeenth century when Sir Owen Wynne of Gwydir gave a herd of deer to Sir John Carter, then owner of Kinmel, “for his new park” has been free to roam since the end of the Second World War when the Army used the Park as a training ground and pulled down all the fences that originally enclosed them.